PC Community Foundation

The Plum Coulee Community Foundation was founded in 2001, under the direction of the Samuel and Saidye Bronfman Family Foundation. It was established to manage donated funds, and to direct and monitor the work of a variety of volunteer committees, working on a number of projects throughout the community. The Bronfman Foundation, with historical ties to Plum Coulee, made a generous donation toward the projects, and provided extra funds for legal and architectural consultations, as well as for project maintenance.

The community foundation movement in Manitoba, and in Canada, began with the establishment of The Winnipeg Foundation in 1921. The Winnipeg Foundation is now part of an ever-growing network of Manitoba foundations. Our province has the most community foundations, per capita, in the country. Manitoba communities have embraced the concept of establishing permanent endowment funds and using investment earnings from those funds to support worthwhile, local projects that enhance the quality of life in their communities.

Manitoba Community Foundations: Pool the charitable gifts of many donors into permanent, income-earning endowment funds that benefit local communities. Make grants, using the earnings from these funds, to support a wide range of local initiatives - including health, education, social services, arts and culture, and the environment. Provide leadership to their communities by bringing people together from all sectors to identify and address local issues.

If you would like to support the Plum Coulee Community Foundation (donations are tax deductible) please contact plum@mymts.net.  Please contact any of the following board of directors for more information on donating to the endowment fund.  The more money the fund contains the larger the grants given each year to volunteer organizations, educational and municipal projects annually.  

Board of Directors: 
 Heather Unger  Chair
 Allen Funk  Vice Chair
 Moira Porte Treasurer 
 Archie Heinrichs  Board Member
 June Letkeman
 Board Member
 Lillian Nickel  Board Member
 Nicole Guenter  Board Member
Lisa Wiebe   Board Member
 2019 Grants                                                                2019 Youth In Philanthropy Grants 
 Plum Fest
 PC Outdoor Rink
 Centre on Main
 PC Foot Bridge  Prairie View Museum
 Fire Truck Restoration  PC Conservation
 PC Heritage Trust Fund  Imagination Library
 PC School  PV Humane Society
 Imagination Library  
 PC Minor Ball  
 Winkler Family Resource  
 LUD of PC  
 PC 4H  
 PC Fire Department  
 Youth In Philanthropy  
 Total Granted $24,353.76                                              Total Granted $2,500.00

 2019 Citizen of the Year      2018 Citizen of the Year
 Archie Heinrichs  Jill Friesen 
 2017 Citizen of the Year  2016 Citizen of the Year
 Jake Dueck  Dorothy Derksen

 2019 Builder of the Past  2018 Builder of the Past
 The Plum Coulee Womens Institute   William C Wiebe
 2017 Builder of the Past  2016 Builder of the Past
 Harold Schulz  William Janzen

Past Citizens of the Year
 2003 William C Wiebe 2004 Cleo Heinrichs 
 2005 Heather Unger 2006 Moira Porte 
 2007 Jake Penner 2008 Allen Funk
 2009 Jim Loewen 2010 Jack Wiebe
 2011 Alfred Loewen 2012 Thrift Shoppe Board
 2013 June Letkeman 2014 Ken Hildebrand
 2015 Aron Rempel 2016 Dorothy Unrau Derksen
 2017 Jake Dueck  2018 Jill Friesen
 2019 Archie Heinrichs  

Community builder of the past 

 2003-Samuel Rosner  2004-Dr. Hugh McGavin
 2005-Russell Stewart  2006-Jake Hooge
 2007-Bernie Kehler  2008-P.P. Toews
 2009- David W. Wiebe  2010- Louis Jackman
 2011- Robert Reichert  2012- Agatha Wiedeman
 2013- George Feakes  2014- Ben Wiebe
 2015- Ed Hiebert  2016- William H. Janzen
 2017 - Harold Schulz  2018 - William C Wiebe
 2019 - The PC Womens Institute  



2018 Grants                                                                       2017 Grants
 Pembina Valley Humane Society $500 Plum Coulee Fire Dept $500
 The Centre on Main $2,100 Maple Manor $350
 PC Minor Soccor $350 PC Elementary School $300
 PC Minor Ball $1,500 PC School Advisory Council $780
 PC House Hockey League $1,500 PC Sports $500
Plum Fest $1,600 Community Meal Program $400
 South Central Ariels $1,500 Imagination Library $1,000
 Community Hall $600 Museum Staffing $700
 PC School Advisory Council $650 LUD Beautification $700
 PC School $1,150 Plum Fest $1,000
 PC LUD $1,000  Canada 150 Alliance $
 PC Prairie View Elevator Museum $2,900  Age friendly Centre $15,000
 PC Prairie View Elevator Museum Maintenance Fund $4,728  Youth in Philanthropy $3,500
   Prarie View Elevator Maintenance $4,728

2016 Grants
 Plum Fest $1,500
 PC Fire Department $1,100
 PC School $650
 Community Meal Program $500
 Parent Advisory Board $450
 Library $1,000
 Cancer Care $1,200
 Museum $1,500
 Community Hall $1,500
 Museum Overhead Door/Maintenance Fund $3,750